Abandoning Our Homeland


I recently participated in a National event called CMA MEDIA CHRONICLES. It included various competitions such as 3D Modeling, Poster Designing, Public Speaking, Live Sketching, Photo Essay, Short Film/TVC and Skits/Theater. The unique aspect was that all the competitions were conducted under one broad theme “Our Dreams, Our Future”. I took part in Public Speaking, based on the theme, I came up with the topic ‘Abandoning Our homeland‘ for my speech. The idea was to make our Pakistani youth realize that ‘Our Dreams and Our Future’ not necessarily lies in a foreign land (as this has become a common perception in our society). Here is what I prepared….

____________________________________________________________________________________________

“OMG! Finally the dream of my life is going to be fulfilled! Got my visa and soon I will be flying to UK where my future is.”

This was my friend’s Facebook status a few weeks ago who recently graduated. It got 300 likes and 250 comments to be exact (quite a hit status!). Not just her, I actually know quite a lot of fresh graduates who plan to go abroad for further studies. Good! But the unfortunate part is that most don’t intend coming back as they plan to settle abroad. Ladies and gentlemen, this has become a common and rising trend. We start searching and applying for the universities abroad even before getting our degrees. Why is that so? Why does today’s youth dream to settle abroad? Why do they believe that their future will be brighter in a foreign land but not here in Pakistan? Why do we tend to grab any opportunity that comes our way to escape? And why are we so quick to accept a new country, a new culture, but not even slightly hesitant in abandoning our own?  As I ask myself these questions, I also hear a lone voice giving me the answers: This country has no future! This country is not worth living in!  This country’s government and system is corrupted! This country has not given me anything! Surprised at the familiarity of these answers?  Well, don’t be!! We! say these words all the time!!

But now as I think about it I feel mortified. How can I say that this country has not given me anything when I know It gave me a unique identity in the world. It made me understand the true meaning of “Freedom” and it nourished me. I grew up here, got an education here,  and now!!!  When I have become competent and independent I simply decide that this place is good for nothing? I want to abandon it and go serve some other country with the skills that I learned here, ignoring the fact that my own country needs me more??

When we become independent and start earning, we don’t want to leave our parents because they have grown old and weak, and now they depend on us! Then WHY is it… that we don’t even feel a slight aversion in leaving our SIXTY-FIVE YEARS OLD MOTHERLAND…PAKISTAN??? Isn’t this old and rather weakening motherland also reliant on us? My friends, aren’t WE being just as selfish, as those corrupted politicians and leaders we condemn all the time? Have we ever tried to understand whose fault all this really is?

We blame the government but who elects it? It’s you and I. We blame the system… but who runs the system? People like You and I. And is the government and the system to be blamed only? Of course not! We, in our individual spaces, are equally responsible for making Pakistan “not worth living in” and earning it a bad name. Why? Because we believe that laws are meant to be broken. We don’t like to pay our taxes. We steal electricity. We indulge in bribery. We cheat, we lie, and we promote the negative image of Pakistan through our own media. Above all, we just talk about problems but we do nothing… NOTHING at all to resolve them. We even have the solutions but somehow…we are hesitant to take the initiative. Let us ask ourselves that what role did we play towards the betterment of our country? Especially us, the Youth? I think we only complain, don’t we?

Take a look at Tunisia. They wanted to free themselves from dictatorship; they achieved their goal and created HISTORY! They didn’t run away from their responsibilities by abandoning their homeland. They all stood together, strove towards their dream and made them HAPPEN! And lets not forget, it was their youth who played a major role in the revolution, the same as in the freedom movement of our own history. Then why can’t we do it now?? We just need to believe in Pakistan and channelize our dreams in the right direction. Rather than planning our ‘individual’ prosperous future, lets us dream together to have a flourishing Pakistan and just like the Tunisians, let us too turn our dream into a reality!

Let us understand our responsibilities; Let us EDUCATE ourselves. Yes! we shall not give up on our dreams of foreign education but we will do so only to come back here to our country, to our Pakistan and serve it because if Pakistan prospers, We prosper!

So as of today, my Dream is a ‘Prosperous Pakistan’, my Future is ONLY PAKISTAN! 🙂

Leave a Reply

