The World is a Masquerade


I had this idea in my head for a very long time and now when I have finally written on it I feel pleased to share it. Through various experiences in life I often feel that this world is  some Masquerade ball where all of us are wearing masks; you can’t tell who is your real friend and who is your enemy because we are unable to see the true faces of people around us. Then one day, reality hits us badly and we see things which we never expected even in our wildest dreams. But what astonishes us even more is the fact that sometimes we also become one of them; we also wear masks and often we don’t realize it .                                              

They dance around me all day

wearing goodness on their faces,

 And accessorize themselves

with love, care and kindness,

My trust has been stolen

by their false act of friendliness

I meet them every day

and watch every role they play,

Friend, companion, lover and more;

are just the masks they put on,

To hide their true colors

And to be what they are not,

So I believe what they show

and accept what they tell,

For I am not aware

that their hearts are evil,

 Laughing behind my back they say I don’t know

The world is a Masquerade!

Soon the truth was revealed

that I was hit by deception,

I stood there being dazed

as their masks dropped one by one,

I wished all of it was just a lie

but reality was bitter which I couldn’t deny,

They were celebrating their victory

feeling happy and contented,

But suddenly became bewildered

as another truth was unveiled,

 Stepping forward I dropped down

my own mask of innocence,

 Looking at their defeated faces

I laughed out loud wickedly,

And told them that I know

The world is a Masquerade!

6 thoughts on “The World is a Masquerade

  1. Subhan Zein says:

    Hi

    You write good poetry up here, so please keep penning and keep inspiring! 🙂

    I would like to thank you for following my blog. I hope my blog doesn’t disappoint you and that your visits in my blog have been and will always be a joyful ride.

    Thank you again and I wish you a lovely day! 🙂

    Subhan Zein

    • areebakafeel says:

      Thank you so much for those words of appreciation; I am glad you find my poetry good 🙂 . I love your work, your poems are amazing so i just had to follow your blog. Therefore, no need of saying thanks because the pleasure is all mine 🙂
      I wish you best of luck for your life ahead

      • Subhan Zein says:

        Thank you for following my blog. I am honored. I hope my blog is not disappointing and that you keep enjoying my blog. Many blessings and much happiness to you.. 🙂

        Subhan Zein

Leave a Reply

